Monotype [Fighting HO] Local Chicken Lets Monk Kick Faster

The Team building Process

I just started playing Monotype for the first time and decided to make a team using a pokemon that I thought could allow fighting to overcome a lot of unwinnable situations: Combusken. This team was inspired by how dangerous Mega-Medicham is with +1 or even +2 speed.

This team started with

This was the offensive core this team started with as explained above, then I needed a SR setter for the team so I decided cobalion because its ability to beat fairies and as a more defensive switch-in or sacrifice.

Then I generally just grabbed some mons that seemed like they could add offensive pressure, there are not too many options for fighting types.

As I gained a bit more knowledge about the metagame I decided that even though I could pass speed I needed a scarf mon so I dropped Infernape for Terrakion. Then later since Terrakion could use Iron Head dropped Cobalion for a lead Infernape set.

The Team!

Terrakion @ Focus Sash
Ability: Justified
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
- Stone Edge
- Stealth Rock
- Close Combat
- Iron Head

Its Sash Terrakion it sets up SR and does other stuff good too. This thing is my 1 out against Mega Diancie by tricking it with Sash then smacking it with iron head. While its not much its better than nothing. Unfortunately this meant giving up Swords Dance which would have been very useful but since this is a HO team and Combusken already giving the opponent free turns as is and Terrakion is usually not going to get a chance to set-up SD I opted for Iron Head instead.

Terrakion @ Choice Scarf
Jolly Nature
- Earthquake
- Stone Edge
- Close Combat
- Iron Head

Scarf Terrakion revenges kills a large variety of pokemon t be honest not much else to this one. It also can function as an alternative win con. against Fire or Dark teams if Combusken gets KOed.

Medicham @ Medichamite
Ability: Pure Power
Jolly Nature
- High Jump Kick
- Fake Out