Other Metagames Anything Goes - Judgment of the Icy Gods

jdg.png

I made that banner
Hi, dsm77773 here. So as you probably know there's an AG mini-tour currently going on. Zangooser (somehow) convinced me to join, so I started playing AG again. I won't lie, the only reason I built this is the tour. I lost in Round1 2-0 vs. dusk raimon because I suck at playing Pokémon, but:
★We are Raimon high:And his team is good
So I guess the team isn't that bad.
It's build around a forgotten Arceus form: Arceus-Ice. Unlike Arceus-Bug or Arceus-Fighting, Arceus-Ice is viable (C-ranked in the VR) and can be put into work when given the right support. Ice is a very cool typing and one of my favorites (second to Dragon) and it's color pallette it's just awesome.

Obviously started the team with Arceus-Ice as a cool CM sweeper.

First step: I need something that can cover Arceus-Ice's plethora of weaknesses, and a Defogger to solve its weakness to Stealth Rock. Arceus-Steel covers all of Ice's weaknesses bar Fire (and the non-existent Fighting types) and works as a Defogger.

Next I need a Stealth Rock setter of my own. Primal Groudon is the best SR setter in AG and covers the team's weakness to Fire.

Anyone who has ever played Pokémon had probably realized the HUGE weakness to Primal Groudon at this point. The most obvious answer? Add Primal Kyogre. But that would make me really weak to Darkrai, and Klefki to some extent, as minimum 4 members of the team can't hold a Lum Berry. At the same time I noticed why Arceus-Steel isn't commonly used as a Defogger despite its bulk and good defensive typing: it loses to the most common setter in AG (read: Primal Groudon). Latias is not a great mon in AG, but can soft check Primal Groudon and Defog, it also helps with Primal Kyogre.

The team was still weak to Darkrai. Holding a Lum, E-killer Arceus joined the team as a Darkrai check.

Still felt weak to Darkrai and Klefki.