A team built around Arbok?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to competitive battling, and I was curious about the NU tier. Most often I lean towards UU but I wanted to explore other tiers and options.

Looking on the strategy Pokedex, I noticed Arbok is very deserving of this tier, with few things in its favour except for a Coil strategy, perhaps; bu it has little type versatility. I don't know if any of you use Arbok, since it's clearly not the best Pokemon in the tier, but what if there was a team buillt around it? What would Arbok's purpose be in the team? What movesets would Arbok need to gain potential?

I used Arbok in HGSS and I want to know what role it could have in the metagame. Me being unexperienced here means I'll be asking tons of questions, so I want to have the opportunity to use these questions to start conversations.

So, do you have any thoughts?

Arbok is deadly when played correctly. With a near perfect accuracy +1 Gunk Shot after one coil will seriously damage any pokemon aslong as they are not steel or Weezing. My suggested moveset and spread would be

Arbok @ Leftovers
Adamant 252 Atk/252 Spe
Intimidate
-Coil
-Gunk Shot
-Sucker Punch
-Earthquake/Bulldoze

Pros of Arbok

• Extremely powerful and accurate STAB Gunk Shot can really put a hole in even some of the bulkier pokemon in NU such as Alomomola and Amoongus, thanks to the godsend of which is Coil.
  • Arbok also makes a good late game cleaner with access to a +1 attack boosted sucker punch.
  • Intimidate is great for switching into a physical pokemon as Arbok will most likely be able to take two or three hits from them (watch out for choice band abusers such as Emboar).
  • Earthquake hits steels with great power which are immune to gunk shot and can safely switch into a sucker punch. However Bulldoze can be used to make up for Arbok's lack luster speed however and can also cause switches allowing an additional Coil boost.