What should all Pokémon teams consist of?

Hey not sure if this is the right thread for this post but looking for some answers to a couple of questions. Im a casual player that plays pogo and switch games so I’m new to this. I usually just throw together what I like but I make sure I have some coverage to deal with the most common types.

What should all Pokémon teams consist of? I see people mention wallbreakers, sweepers, offensive, defensive, bulky, setups, etc. can anyone tell me what these all are and how do I know what Pokémon would suit the role better? So far I’ve built a couple of OU teams but I’m being told they are a mix and I should choose one play style, offense or defense. I try to have at least one or two to setup stuff like stealth rock or any type of hazards. I make sure to have types of coverage moves like ground, fighting, ice, and steel since those cover the most. I’ve tried other peoples teams and mine and my main struggle I’m not prepared for the opponents attacks/team. I won a couple of matches with the team I made and randomized teams. I’ve had trouble dealing with iron valiant, dragapult, and ting lu with not having coverage moves and opponents keep switching out to deal my team. I may try other sample teams to see if anything works out with those.

Any advice, suggestions, or comments is appreciated!

I know it’s been months since this has been posted, but better late than never. There are many different play styles. They range from Hyper offense to stall. Some prominent ones will be mentioned here. Note that different formats have different prominent playstyles, and no playstyle will always be better than another. I’ll make some really rough summaries of some major playstyles.