UU Player of the Week #19: Sam

Manipulative

Camila <3
is a Tutor Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
Approved by King UU and Hogg
Stolen from Hairy Toenail

Art by rozes

Hello, and welcome to UU's Player of the Week, where I interview
some of Smogon's most accomplished and well known players in the tier to give
some insight on who they are and their views on certain aspects of the metagame.
If there's someone you want to see interviewed, shoot me a PM!

Sam
Can you tell us a bit about yourself?
Hello, I am a 23 year old currently residing in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I graduated this past summer with a degree in chemical engineering. Besides mons I'm pretty in to sports and photography, and am known for being a lover of fragrance.

Most known for?
Being an admin. Before that, being a super mod and an SPL manager. Before that, being UUTL. Before that, nothing really.

Favorite Pokemon?
Starmie

Most Used Pokemon?
Dunno, I try to be varied. Probably Mega Aero or Sylveon.

What brought you to Smogon and competitive Pokemon in general?
Way back when at the start of BW (when they still used the Japanese names), one of my friends found Pokemon Online and we played DPP UU together and on the PO server for a bit. That friend lost interest, but I stuck around and was pretty much a ladder hero on Smogon. I made an account in 2011 but didn't really get involved much until the end of 2013. At that time, XYUU beta started and I became involved in the community.

What is your favorite Generation of Pokemon and why?
Probably Gen 3. Competitively it is the most fun. I don't care for in-game that much and don't have a ton of nostalgia for the originals.

Thoughts on the current metagame of ORAS UU?

It's pretty fun. A lot of people feel obligated to use standard as hell balance teams but there's a ton to explore outside of those.

What is your favorite playstyle?
In my heart I always have a soft spot for offense.