Other Metagames The Squad of Squads 1v1 (peaked #1)

Gross Sweep

Plan Ahead
is a CAP Contributoris a Top Team Rater Alumnusis a Community Leader Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Discord Contributor Alumnus
The Squad of Squads
Created By: Gross Sweep

Background

I’ve been playing Pokémon with a truly competitive mindset for a little over a year now, and it’s been great (mainly OU and OM’s). I started playing 1v1 when I saw the perish song suspect test, which I got reqs for, and have never looked back. Sadly though the ORAS Meta game is coming to a close in just a few days. So with the end of an era approaching I would like to say a final goodbye to one of my favorite and most successful teams in my favorite tier 1v1.

Warning to raters

As anyone who plays 1v1 with any consistency knows the 1v1 ladder is a wonderful place full of counter teaming. This causes no team of three to ever be perfect. I’m sure they all lose to some obscure gimmicky set, or one of the other several hundred mons in the tier. With this in mind remember that while I’m sure this team does have a weakness or two I did manage to peak number 1 on the ladder with it (proof will be provided later), and got 2 accounts into the top 10 at the same time solely using this team on the climb up – so it’s not that bad, and I won’t replace any mons no matter how good your argument may be (The Team Is Retired).

The Team

Team building process

The first Mon I used on this team was M-Gyarados. This Mon has been my rock through 6th gen 1v1, and never disappoints – truly deserves the S+ rank it holds, and is fitting that it stars my last team.

The second Mon was Aegislash. Aegislash helps the team deal with fairies like Gardevoir along with providing a decent match-up vs most normal types – primarily hyper beam spammers.