The Beginning (Wi-Fi)

The Beginning

I started playing Ubers towards the end of Generation 4 once Arceus was released. I'm still adjusting to the metagame but its the most fun I've had playing Pokemon in a while. The team is called "The Beginning" because it marks the start of my journey into the Ubers metagame (yeah I know it's cheesy). Anyways, this team is a balanced team, my favorite style of battling. It is based around bulky Calm Minders Steel Arceus and Kyogre which stall and offensive teams tend to struggle against. Most of the testing for this team occured in the PO 5th Gen beta testing so I may have missed some significant weaknesses. Note that this team is designed for WiFi play, not Dream World.

In-Depth Analysis

Groudon @ Leftovers
Drought | Impish (+Def, -SpA)
252 HP / 216 Def / 40 Spe
- Stealth Rock
- Earthquake
- Stone Edge
- Roar
---
Groudon is one of the most reliable leads for stall and balanced teams like this. It has favorable match ups against many common leads so it does a great job of setting up Stealth Rock early. Although Groudon is a solid lead, I don't always lead with it if I notice an unfavorable match up in the team previews. If my opponent is leading with Deoxys-S or Forretress, I normally lead with Giratina-O to prevent them from setting up multiple hazards. Against Darkrai leads, I send out Kyogre and Sleep Talk as they use Dark Void. Opposing Kyogre leads are a bit troublesome but Palkia or my own Kyogre can handle them.

Speaking of Kyogre, Groudon paired with it gives me incredible control over the weather. Although at first glance it looks like most of my team hates sunlight, Drought helps boost Giratina-O's HP Fire and provides a pseudo Water resistance for my Steel-types. Aside from setting up Stealth Rock and providing weather control, Groudon is my main check to various physical attackers such as Bulk Up Dialga, Zekrom, and Ho-Oh.