So... I turn 30 next week

That's right, RIP my youth.

As I turn the page to the next decade of my life, I find myself thinking a lot about how I spent my 20's. All in all, I really can't complain about the last 10 years of my life. Some highlights that I'm proud of:
  • I spent my entire career in the gaming industry, which is what I've always wanted (6 years at PlayStation, and now 6 months in my new job).
  • I graduated from working on Pokémon on Smogon, to working on Pokémon IRL, which is still crazy for me to think about (I would appreciate if those of you who know what I do kept it private).
  • I met the love of my life, who is as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside, and we're engaged to get married next year.
  • I traveled to 12 countries and more states than I can be bothered to count right now.
  • I lost 60lbs after deciding I needed to make a lifestyle change for the sake of my health.
  • I maintained friendships with the best people on the planet and strengthened bonds with my siblings.
At the risk of this coming off as a brag post, I'll leave my highlights at that. Now, to the real point of this thread:

I'd be lying if I said that Smogon and competitive Pokémon didn't play a big role in who I am today. I don't know whether I should be embarrassed or proud of that, but I definitely can't deny it. I recently went down a rabbit hole of old posts and PMs of mine from when I first started here in 2008, and everything was so cringe-worthy (I wonder how many of you will try to look up my post history now). Yet, Smogon's sink-or-swim culture really helped me grow into maturity, as ironic as that seems for a website dedicated to "a kid's game."