Serious Jobs

How'd you get your first graduate job? How challenging was it? Any advise to others (especially university graduates) on how to maximise the chance of you landing a job ASAP?

I have had several well paying jobs in the past and unfortunately after going back to uni to pursue an MSc in Petroleum engineering, the entire market crashed. So I worked for a year as a high school physics instructor. Now that summer is here, the bills still have to be paid. Desperate times mean desperate measures have to be taken...so i will go to a large train station in London and give out my CV early in the morning?

Anyone else do anything out of the norm in an attempt to get a job?

I graduated in fall of 2014 (needed to attend school during the summer term to finish my degree) and had no luck finding a job in the months immediately following graduation. By around October, I still had no job, and it's around that time that retail employers start hiring on lots of temporary employees to prepare for the Christmas shopping season, so I suited up, printed out a stack of CVs, drove to the nearby shopping plaza, and left an application with every store there.

I ended up getting calls back from Best Buy and Target by the end of that week, did interviews with both, and got both jobs. At Target, I stocked shelves from midnight to 4 AM , and at Best Buy, I worked the Geek Squad counter during whatever daytime hours I got scheduled (it varied from week to week, anywhere 12-42 hours per week). Target also gave me the option to stay for an extra hour on days when they were busy and needed the help, so between both jobs I was working between 36 and 62 hours per week.