Featured Tutor #3 - IronBullet93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Approved by IronBullet93 and Plus.
Thanks Kahila911 for the awesome banner

Welcome to the first edition of our new project, Featured Tutor Interviews! We will interview tutors about Battling101 and their experiences with the program. This project will be hosted by Leftiez and me, Steve Angello. Today we will be interviewing IronBullet93, Battling101 moderator and one of the tutors we have .​

• Can you tell us a bit about your life outside Smogon?
I'm currently a masters student studying Finance in London. When I'm not studying (which is a lot of the time) I like playing tennis, reading thrillers/fantasy novels, playing guitar, and browsing the million forums I mod on here hehe. I'm also a really big fan of classic rock music, particularly the Beatles as you can probably tell from my profile.

• When did you join the Battling 101 program?
I joined last September.

• Why did you join Battling101?
Before I went on hiatus in 2012 my involvement in the community was mostly limited to RMT and tournaments. When I returned though I felt a strong inclination to contribute more. I was always interested in getting involved in B101 but just never got around to signing up. As there were spots open for my strongest tiers (UU & DPP) I decided to try my hand at tutoring and use the knowledge I'd gained during my time here to try and help newer players.

• Did you sign up as a tutee initially?
No, because I actually wasn't aware B101 existed at the time lol. The first tier I ever played was DPP UU and I picked it up solely through chatting with fellow players on Shoddy and browsing the strategy dex. By the time I actually joined the forums I was quite adept at it, and didn't really have a need for tutoring.

• What's your preferred style of battling?