Heart Gold | Soul Silver In-Game Tier List

Status
Not open for further replies.

PK Gaming

Persona 5
is a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Discord Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Top Contributor Alumnusis a Past SPL Champion
Chikorita is way to high. I just started playing HG/SS this Friday and it's a joke early on. Johto has waaaaaay to many grass resists, and it's only other reliable attack up until a decent level is Tackle (Cut).

Seriously, your running through troubles early on when you NEED to rely on other pokemon.

Gym 1: Rocky (Onix) is mandatory or a high level secondary poke (Sentret/Ratatta w/e)

Gym 2: A nightmare. You really need to grind as Bayleef (assuming you have it) is utterly useless here. Your main STAB attack is 4X resisted. I need to grind my spearow to a respectable level here.

Gym 3: Yay, you finally do better than Cynaduil.

Gym 4: A nightmare. The ghosts's are part poison and so your grass type attacks are resisted. Gengar is especially hard here.

Gym 5: Also good. Poliwrath gets punked. Still~average vs rest of teamates/subbordinate trainers

Gym 6: Pretty bad except against Steelix.

Gym 7: ANOTHER bad matchup. Part grounds get owned but that's it.

Gym 8: Also incredibly awful. You do better than Feraligatr/Typhlosion here (especially against Kingdra)

In short Chikorita should be in mid tier. It's terrible vs gyms and trainers in general.

I agree with moving geodude up to high. He can crush Whitney in addition to the things everyone else has mentioned, and unless you overleveled your starter you should know what a pain Whitney was to defeat.

Sentret needs to be top, it is an amazing HM slave.

Tentacool needs to be top because it is very very easily obtainable and can learn all three water HMs, surf, waterfall, and whirlpool as well as cut if needed.

I'm going to petition for Staryu in the High tier for a few reasons.